The Walk-In Closet

“… If one of the tasks of fiction is to bring to light a world that for whatever reasons we haven’t bothered to see for ourselves — and to make us see that it is our world, too — then Nazemian’s book is a success. That he then adds his unique way of seeing — in which he marries his sharp satirist’s eye to a profound empathy — makes this hilarious, heartbreaking first novel a triumph.”

 

Richard Kramer
author of These Things Happen, screenwriter of Tales of the City, thirtysomething, and My So-Called Life

THE WALK-IN CLOSETis a contemporary fable of love, loss and redemption, set between cultures and between the sexes. Written at a spanking pace, with humor, suspense and a heart, it captures the voice of a generation and paves the way to a new genre of literary fiction.”

 

Lila Azam Zanganeh
author of The Enchanter: Nabokov and Happiness

“If you like Shahs of Sunset you’ll love THE WALK-IN CLOSET. Abdi Nazemian shines a white hot, entertaining spotlight on the ins and outs of Tehrangeles. Curl up and enjoy this fabulous debut!”

 

Jessica Bendinger
author of The Seven Rays, screenwriter of Sex and the City

"I relished every moment of this warm, funny, brutally engaging novel. Abdi Nazemian’s Los Angeles is both uncannily familiar and entirely foreign. Put this in the canon of LA literature: Nazemian has written a side of Los Angeles prevalent in real life but rarely seen in fiction."

 

Katherine Taylor
author of Rules for Saying Goodbye

"...Wickedly funny and devastatingly moving, THE WALK-IN CLOSET is a thrilling ride from start to finish. Nazemian surprises with every turn he takes, telling a story that vividly illustrates the price of living in a closet."

 

Chaz Bono
author of Family Outing, The End of Innocence and Transition

Absolutely engrossing read from page one. Abdi Nazemian has painted a world so vivid and real that even if you know nothing of ‘Tehrangeles,’ by the end you feel as if you are a part of it. I simply COULD NOT put this book down!

 

Busy Philipps
Actress

“Absorbing entertainment. I walked into Nazemian’s walk-in closet and didn’t want to walk out.”

 

Kelly Oxford
author of Everything Is Perfect When You’re a Liar

Step into a world where glamour, money and family honor – no matter the cost – reign supreme in Abdi Nazemian’s THE WALK-IN CLOSET. Fans of Armistead Maupin’s Tales of the City and Kevin Kwan’s Crazy Rich Asians will love this debut novel from Los Angeles screenwriter Nazemian (The Quiet, Celeste in the City) about two best friends in Los Angeles juggling a fictional relationship and searching for true love. Hilarious, heartbreaking and edgy, with a shocking twist, THE WALK-IN CLOSET provides a glimpse into the lives of the Iranian-American elite.

Kara Walker has never found much glamour in her own life, especially not when compared to the life of her best friend Bobby Ebadi. Bobby, along with his sophisticated parents Leila and Hossein, is everything Kara always wanted to be. The trio provides the perfect antidote to what Kara views as the more mundane problems of her girlfriends and her divorced parents. And so when the Ebadis assume that Kara is Bobby’s girlfriend, she willingly steps into the role. She enjoys the perks of life in this closet, not only Leila’s designer hand-me-downs and free rent, but also the excitement of living life as an Ebadi.

As Kara’s 30th birthday approaches, Leila and Hossein up the pressure. They are ready for Kara to assume the mantle of the next Mrs. Ebadi, and Bobby seems prepared to give them what they want: the illusion of a traditional home and grandchildren. How far will Kara be willing to go? And will she be willing to pull the Persian rug out from under them when she discovers that her own secret is just one of many lurking inside the Ebadi closet?

 

THE WALK-IN CLOSET

by Abdi Nazemian  

Author: Abdi Nazemian

Abdi Nazemian is the screenwriter of The Quiet, Celeste in the City, Beautiful Girl, and the short film Revolution, which he also directed. He is an alumnus of the Sundance Writer’s Lab, a mentor at the Outfest Screenwriter’s Lab, and has taught screenwriting at UCLA Extension. He lives in Los Angeles with his two children, and his dog Hedy Lamarr. The Walk-In Closet is his first novel.

Share This Post On